One Mom's View

Raising my daughter around the world

Trip to Sri Lanka October 13, 2012

Filed under: Family,Toddler,Travel — swimntina @ 9:30 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Our family recently went to Sri Lanka. We had a conference to attend with some of the other leaders in the church. It was a gathering of pastors and leaders from Foursquare churches in the Eastern part of the world, from China and Japan to Australia and New Zealand to India and Pakistan. We originally planned on flying in just for the conference, but our budget airline had other plans for us. After offering tickets for prices we couldn’t pass on, they limited flights to a few days a week. We had a choice, either cancel our trip or go 2 days early and stay an extra day. We chose the extended trip, and I’m glad we did. We had a great time at the conference and exploring a new country.

Attending conferences with little ones (and no childcare) is not nearly as fun as when you don’t have children with you. Toting a little purse of toys around, Ellie played quietly during the morning sessions and made friends during meal times. Not wanting to overwhelm Ellie as she got tired, Ellie and I went back to the room early every night, missing the evening sessions. There was a silver lining to this though, as our room had a great big bathtub so I caught up on some reading and soaked while Ellie slept. I got the Cliff Note version from my husband when he got back to the room every night. We made new friends and caught up with old ones, and did enjoy the daytime meetings, so I didn’t feel like I missed out on the conference.

I have more thoughts to share about our trip and the conference, so hopefully, I will be able to sit down and write about them shortly.

 

One Response to “Trip to Sri Lanka”

  1. […] at ECFC in Sri Lanka, one of the speakers mentioned how he would like to have a gathering were everyone dressed like the […]


Leave a comment